

UTAH COUNTY SHERIFF'S TEACHERS ACADEMY

Course Outline

This is an 20 hour course designed to cover critical skills needed in an active shooter event. You will be briefed on lessons learned from active shooter incidents around the country and world. Law enforcement, self-defense, and medical professionals will teach skills that are designed to save lives.

Specific topics that will be covered:

- Tactical Emergency Medical Techniques
- Weapons Familiarization
- Utah Concealed Carry Certification
- VirTra Simulator Training
- Tactical De-Escalation
- Self-Defense
- Live Fire Range Day (shooting skills & qualification course)

"School safety is of the utmost importance to me and the sheriff's office. We are excited to provide this level of training to our educators. Many times people fail to act in critical incidents because they have never been taught how to act. The skills taught in this class are designed to teach you how to act and how to save lives."

SHERIFF MIKE SMITH



DATES:

APRIL: 1, 8, 9, 15, 22, 29

MAY: 2

CONTACT:

SHERIFF MIKE SMITH MIKES@UTAHCOUNTY.GOV

INSTRUCTORS

SHERIFF SMITH **UCSO SWAT Instructor**

UNDER SHERIFF BUFTON UCSO SWAT Instructor

DR. SANDERSON

TYLER NELSON

ER Trauma Doctor

Paramedic

SGT. RADMALL UCSO Firearms Instructor Fight Back Nation

DAVE ACOSTA

DEP. MORTENSON

DEP. LAWRENSON

LT. JEFF JONES **Negotiator**

UCSO Firearms Instructor UCSO Firearms Instructor

DAY 1 - 4/1/20 - 6pm - UCSO Welcome & Intro / Active Shooter Response

DAY 2 - 4/8/20 Group A - 6pm - Provo 4/9/20 Group B - 6pm - Provo

Self Defense / VirTra Simulator

DAY 3 - 4/15/20 - 6pm - UCSO

Concealed Carry Class / Weapon Familiarization

DAY 4 - 4/22/20 - 6pm - UCSO

Tactical De-escalation

DAY 5 - 4/29/20 - 6pm - UCSO

Tactical Medical Technique / Stop the Bleed

DAY 6 - 5/2/20 Group A - 9am - Thistle Range 5/2/20 Group B - 12pm - Thistle Range

Live Fire Day



RANGE DAY ATTIRE

- Long pants
- Closed toe shoes
- Light weight gloves
- Hat

COURSE REQS

- School teacher or Admin
- Course Fee \$20.00
- Signed waiver
- Criminal history check

CCW PERMIT (optional)

- Must be 21 years old
- Photocopy of drivers license
- Photo / Fingerprints
- \$53.25 State fee





APPLICATION FOR TEACHER'S ACADEMY

Personal Information		Date
Name:		
Date of Birth		
Address:		
City:		St: Zip:
Phone #:	Email Address:	
School:	School District:_	
Are you 18 years of age or older? Y	N	
Do you have a valid Utah Driver Lie	cense? YN	Driver License#:
Do you own a pistol to use on range day? YN If yes what caliber?		
T-Shirt Size Mens	Womens	
Have you ever been convicted of a I	Felony? YN	_
If yes, please explain:		

^{*}Registration fee \$20. Please make checks to: Utah County Sheriff's Honorary Colonels



TEACHER'S ACADEMY BACKGROUND CHECK WAIVER

Participants in the program will have some access to secure areas of the Utah County Sheriff's Office and use of Utah County-owned equipment including vehicles and weapons on a supervised basis. As an applicant for the Utah County Sheriff's Teacher's Academy, I recognize that a general background check may be conducted for wants or warrants including criminal history information. I hereby give my permission for officers, agents or designees of Utah County Sheriff's Office to perform these records checks for the sole purpose of maintaining the safety and security of the Utah County Sheriff's Office as well as the public. I understand that any information obtained will not be used for any purpose other than to maintain the integrity of the program and not in connection with any criminal investigation.

Dated this	day of	, 20
Signat	ure of Applicant	



TEACHER'S ACADEMY WAIVER

I agree to release and hold harmless <u>Utah County</u>, its agencies, departments, officers, employees, agents, (entity and persons as appropriate) and all sponsors and/or officials and staff from any said entity or person, their representatives, agents, affiliates, directors, servants, volunteers, and employees from the cost of any medical care that I receive while participating in, or as a result of the Teacher's Academy.

I further agree to release and hold harmless <u>Utah County</u>, its agencies, departments, officers, employees, agents, (entity and persons as appropriate) and all sponsors and/or officials and staff of any said entity or person, their representatives, agents, affiliates, directors, servants, volunteers and employees from any and all liability, claims, demands, actions, and causes of actions whatsoever for any loss claim, damage, injury, illness, attorney's fees, or harm of any kind or nature to me arising out of any and all activities associated with my participation in the Teacher's Academy.

I further agree to hold harmless, and hereby release the above-mentioned entities and persons from all liability, negligence, or breach of warranty associated with injuries or damages from any claim by me, my family, estate, heirs, or assigns from or in any way connected with the aforementioned activities.

CONSENT

Consent is expressly given, in the event of injury, to treat me for any emergency medical aid, anesthesia, and /or operation, if in the opinion of the attending physician, such treatment is necessary.

I HAVE CAREFULLY READ AND UNDERSTAND THE CONTENTS OF THE FOREGOING LANGUAGE AND I SPECIFICALLY INTEND IT TO COVER ALL OF MY PARTICIPATION IN THE TEACHER'S ACADEMY SPONSORED BY THE UTAH COUNTY SHERIFF'S OFFICE. I UNDERSTAND I AM SUBJECT TO A CRIMINAL HISTORY BACKGROUND CHECK AND GIVE THE UTAH COUNTY SHERIFF'S OFFICE AUTHORITY TO CONDUCT A CRIMINAL HISTORY CHECK.

NAME OF PARTICIPANT	DATE
PARTICIPANT SIGNATURE	