

## Our Constitution



Over two hundred years ago, a convention began in the city of Philadelphia. George Washington, James Madison, Alexander Hamilton, and Benjamin Franklin were a few of the fifty-five men that gathered at this meeting. The men voted George Washington to be the leader of the convention. James Madison wrote down everything that was said during the convention.

The men worked together to create a plan and rules for the government to follow. These rules, or the Constitution, established three branches of government: executive, legislative, and judicial. The executive branch is the office of president and vice-president. The legislative branch is called Congress. It includes the House of Representatives and the Senate. The judicial branch makes sure that the laws agree with what the Constitution says. The highest court in the land is the Supreme Court.

On September 17, 1787, the Constitution was signed by thirty-nine men. Copies were then sent to all the state governments. It needed to be approved in each state before it could become law. Delaware was the first state to approve the new Constitution. By May of 1790, all thirteen states ratified the Constitution.

The Constitution is now the oldest set of rules still in use for running a country. The thirteen states have grown to fifty states, and the Constitution has served as the foundation for our government for over two hundred years.

