Designation Application Fee is $25.00
How to Become a Designee Authorized to Perform Marriage Ceremonies
|Utah State Code 17-20-4 authorizes the County Clerk to designate
individuals who are willing to officiate a legal marriage for which a marriage license has been issued. A designated individual is referred to as a Designee.
Utah County maintains a list of Designees authorized to solemnize a legal marriage for which a marriage license has been issued. An applicant is considered a Utah County designee after their application has been reviewed and approved by the Utah County Clerk or a Deputy Clerk. Designated individuals will be issued either a paper or electronic certificate that will serve as evidence that an individual is an approved designee.
The following information is Utah County's policy on Designees. If you would like to become a Utah County Designee, please read the information below carefully, then complete the appropriate form. To complete your registration you can appear in person at the Utah County Marriage License Office or complete your registration online. See the boxes labeled Step One and Step Two to complete the online process.
General Provisions for All Designees
DESIGNEE: (Spouse 1), do you take (Spouse 2) to be your lawfully wedded (husband/wife/spouse)?
SPOUSE 1: (Required to answer in the affirmative.)
DESIGNEE: (Spouse 2), do you take (Spouse 1) to be your lawfully wedded (husband/wife/spouse)?
SPOUSE 2: (Required to answer in the affirmative.)
DESIGNEE: By virtue of the authority vested in me through the laws of the State of Utah, I now pronounce you (Spouse 1) and (Spouse 2) legally married.
Step 1: Pick Officiant Type and Complete Application
Read the additional provisions listed below for each type of Designee. Click on the application button for the Designee type that best fits your situation. Complete the application and save it or print it off after you have signed it electronically. Once you have completed the appropriate application, proceed to step two.
A Designee may be appointed for a limited duration. A limited appointment is generally intended
for situations in which a Designee intends to officiate a marriage for close friends and family where their role as officiator
will hold special significance for the marriage party. Additional provisions that apply to a Designee with an limited duration
include the following:
A Designee may be appointed for an indefinite duration. Additional provisions that apply to a Designee
with an indefinite duration include the following:
Additional Provisions - Limited Duration
- A person designated to perform marriages with a limited duration will only perform weddings within the limitations specified in the designation.
- If the Designee is appointed for a limited duration, their appointment will endure until the date the appointment expires, or until the completion of the event(s) for which the individual has been designated, as determined at the time of application, whichever occurs first.
Additional Provisions - Indefinite Duration
- The Designee will not refuse to officiate in a marriage ceremony on the basis of any characteristic protected under law.
- With a minimum of 5 days advance notice, minus any personal scheduling conflicts, the Designee agrees to perform all marriage ceremonies for any couple that has legally obtained a marriage license within the State of Utah.