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of Vault Privies

Effective July 1, 2017

(1) Except as outlined in this rule, all requirements of the state rule R317-560, and all
applicable local rules must be met before a vault privy may be installed, operated, or maintained.
The Utah County Health Department adopts all portions of R317-560 as if incorporated fully
herein, except as specified in (2).

(2) No earthen pit privy may be constructed, used, or operated in Utah County. Rule
sections R317-560 2.5, 3.2, 4.5 and all reference to the allowance of earthen pit privies are
excluded from adoption in this Regulation. Any earthen privy legally established prior to 1956
may continue in use and operation according to all applicable federal, state, and local laws.

(3) No vault privy may be constructed or installed until a construction permit is obtained
from the Utah County Health Department. No vault privy constructed or installed after the
effective date of this Regulation may be unless the owner has a valid permit for use issued by the
Utah County Health Department.

(4) A construction permit shall be issued when:
a. A site evaluation is performed a the Utah County Health Department

b. All submission, design and siting requirements outlined in R317-560 and
this Regulation have been met.

(o8 An agreement has been executed with the Utah County Health Department
regarding the maintenance of the vault privy for as long as the vault privy is in use.

d. The applicant has posted a cash bond in the amount of $2,500 with Utah
County, available to the Utah County Health Department in the event of a failure to
maintain the vault privy and the Utah County Health Department incurs expenses in
containment, mitigation, or clean up of the vault privy. This bond shall be returned when
a vault privy is properly destroyed or removed.

s All other applicable fees have been paid.
(5) A permit for use shall be issued when:

a. Structure and privy have been inspected and are installed as per designs
submitted to the Utah County Health Department.



b. The privy is in compliance with all other laws and regulations.
(6) Maintenance purveyor must follow maintenance requirements outlined in R317-560
and keep records of maintenance preformed. Records shall be accessible to view upon request of
the Utah County Health Department.

II. NON-COMPLIANT PRIVIES

(1) A privy shall be deemed non-compliant if any of the following conditions exist:

a. The system does not meet the approved design and siting requirements.
b. The system is not operated or maintained as approved.
c. Surfacing sewage, sewage seepage from the vault, or any other condition

outside of normal operating conditions that pose a danger to public health or
environmental quality.

(2) A privy that has been deemed to be non-compliant for more than 30 days or a
privy that has been deemed to be non-compliant and poses an imminent public health risk shall
be subject to legal action as described in Title 26A, Utah State Code, as amended. The Utah
County Department of Health may revoke a permit for use due to non-compliance with this
Regulation.

3) Any first violation of any provision of this Regulation shall be punishable by a
civil fine not to exceed $5,000. Any subsequent violation of any provision of this Regulation
shall be punishable by a civil fine not to exceed $10,000. The issuance of a civil fine does not
preclude the Utah County Health Department from seeking any other fines or penalties as
prescribed by law.



