
Procedure for Requesting FMLA Leave 

(1) Employees requesting FMLA leave must provide verbal or 

written notice of the need for the leave to the Personnel 

Office. When the need for leave is foreseeable, the 

employee must provide at least 30 days’ advance notice.  

When 30 days notice is not possible, the employee must 

provide notice as soon as practicable and explain why 

advance notice was not given.  Generally, the employee 

must also comply with the department’s normal call-in 

procedures.  Within five business days of receiving this 

notice, Personnel will provide the employee with the 

required Notice of Eligibility and Rights.   

(2) Employees must provide sufficient information for the 

County to determine if the leave may qualify for FMLA 

protection and the anticipated timing and duration of the 

leave.  Sufficient information may include that the 

employee is unable to perform job functions, the family 

member is unable to perform daily activities, the need for 

hospitalization or continuing treatment by a health care  

provider, or circumstances supporting the need for military 

family leave.  Employees also must inform the County if 

the requested leave is for a reason for which FMLA leave 

was previously taken or certified.  

(3) The County will require complete and sufficient 

certification for the employee’s serious health condition, or 

that of family member, or for military family leave.  The 

employee must respond to such a request for information 

within 15 days of the request or provide a reasonable 

explanation for the delay.  Recertifications supporting the 

need for leave and the employee’s intent to return to work 

may be requested periodically as allowed by law.  Failure 

to provide complete and sufficient certification may result 

in a denial of continuation of leave.  Medical and other 

certifications will be provided using the Department of 

Labor’s certification forms. 

(4) If there is a dispute about the medical opinion provided by 

any physician, Utah County may require a second opinion 

by a physician of its choice, at its expense. If a third 

opinion is necessary, a third doctor may be selected, also at 

Utah County's expense. The third doctor must be agreed 

upon by both the employee and Utah County, and the 

doctor may not be employed on a regular basis by Utah 

County. 



   I. Designation of FMLA Leave 

After the employee has submitted the appropriate certification 

forms, the Personnel Office will provide the employee with a 

written response to the employee’s request for FMLA, indicating 

whether or not they are eligible for FMLA leave.  Employees will 

be informed if the leave will be designated as FMLA-protected and 

the amount of leave counted against the employee’s FMLA 

entitlement.  If eligible, the notice will specify any additional 

information required as well the employee’s rights and 

responsibilities.  If the employee is not eligible, the County will 

provide a reason for the ineligibility.  

 


