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Utah County

Transient Room Monthly Tax Return
UC-TRT-M

Rev. 6/04

Tax Period

Return due on or before

Account Number

Use this number for all
references

Check box if AMENDED and enter correct

TAX PERIOD (above) being amended.

THIS RETURN MUST BE FILED, EVEN IF NO TAX IS DUE

(1)

TOTAL TAXABLE CHARGES

(2)

TAX RATE

(3)

TOTAL TAX DUE

$ ¢ 3% or 0.03 $ ¢

0.03

I declare under the penalties provided by law that to the best of my knowledge this is a true and correct return.

Authorized Signature Title Date Telephone

This form, process, and entity to which it applies are subject to review by the office of the Utah County Auditor or its

agent.

Return entire form AND payment to:
Utah County Auditor’s Office, Attn: Transient Room Tax, 100 E Center St Ste 3600, Provo UT 84606-3159.

Please return original; make a copy for your records.

Refer to instructions on back of page.



UTAH COUNTY AUDITOR’S OFFICE
TRANSIENT ROOM TAX MONTHLY RETURN

GENERAL INFORMATION

IF BUSINESS WAS DISCONTINUED OR NEW BUSINESS STARTED OR IF THERE HAS BEEN A CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP,
ATTACH A STATEMENT OF EXPLANATION.

Transient room tax is imposed by Utah County on all operations of motor or trailer courts, hotels, motels, and similar public
accommodations on the amount charged for every occupancy subject to sales tax.

This monthly return should be used by businesses with a tax liability of $50,000 or more for the previous calendar year. Businesses
with a tax liability of less than $50,000 should file a quarterly return but may opt to file a monthly return.

This return must be filed even if no tax is due. Return the entire form to Utah County with any payment due; keep a copy for your
records.

Make check or money order payable to: UTAH COUNTY AUDITOR’S OFFICE.

This return must be postmarked on or before the applicable due date:

Month Ending Due Date Month Ending Due Date Month Ending Due Date
January 31 Feb. 28/29 May 31 Jun. 30 September 30 Oct. 31
February 28/29 Mar. 31 June 30 Jul. 31 October 31 Nov. 30
March 31 Apr. 30 July 31 Aug. 31 November 30 Dec. 31
April 30 May 31 August 31 Sep. 30 December 31 Jan. 31

If the due date for filing a return falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal Utah County holiday, you may file your return on the next
business day.

Late fees in the amount of $20 or 10 percent of the reporting month’s tax due, whichever is greater, will be assessed on returns
filed past the due date.

If you need additional help or information, contact the Utah County Auditor’s Office at 801-851-8047.

AMENDED RETURNS - To amend a previously filed return, please check the “Amended Return” box below the “Account Number”
box and enter the tax period being amended in the “Tax Period” box. Amended returns should be filed with corrected amounts (not
net amounts). Calculate any refund or balance due by subtracting the original payment from the corrected tax due. Submit payment
of the balance due or send a letter to the Utah County Auditor’s Office requesting a refund of an overpayment. Failure to pay all
additional tax and interest could result in additional charges.

Utah County has elected to directly collect its transient room tax. This transient room tax return should only be used to report tax for
businesses located in Utah County.

INSTRUCTIONS
Column 1 Enter the total taxable charges for accommodations. (Do NOT include occupancies for continuous periods of 30

or more days or other exemptions provided by the Sales and Use Tax Act in Utah Code Annotated Title 59,
Chapter 12).

Column 2 Tax rate for Utah County.

Column 3 Total tax due (taxable amount from column 1 multiplied by the tax rate in column 2).

Additional forms may be printed from the Auditor’s website at http://www.utahcountyonline.org/Dept/ClerkAud/Forms/index.asp.

Return entire form AND payment to:
Utah County Auditor’s Office, Attn: Transient Room Tax, 100 E Center St Ste 3600, Provo UT 84606-3159.

Please return original; make a copy for your records.
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