Utah County Sheriff Logo

Utah County Sheriff's Office vehicles at Bridal Veil Falls
Welcome to the Utah County Sheriff's Office Corrections Bureau


Utah County Jail Orientation for Inmate Family and Friends

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction 13. DNA Collection
  2. Jail Administration 14. Inmate Programs
  3. Inmate Classification 15. Inmate Worker Privileges
  4. Inmate Good time 16. Alternatives to Incarceration
  5. Housing Assignments 17. Inmate Rules and Regulations
  6. Booking 18. Inmate Requests
  7. Release from Jail 19. Disciplinary Issues
  8. Health Care 20. Grievances
  9. Mail and Publications 21. Jail Food
  10. Visiting 22. Access to Religious Services and Diets
  11. Telephone Use 23. Diplomatic and Consular Notification
  12. Pay to Stay  


This is an introductory booklet for individuals who have family or friends incarcerated in the Utah County Jail. This booklet is written in an easy question and answer format and provides a basic understanding of jail operations, rules, and regulations. You should find its contents especially beneficial if you expect to visit or communicate with a inmate or to conduct any other business.

General Information

Jail Administration

Q. What types of services does the Jail provide for the inmates and their families?

A. The Jail provides services such as:

  1. Property Releases
    Family or friends may come to the Jail to obtain property the inmate had in his or her possession at the time of incarceration. The only property released is everything the inmate had on him or her when they were booked into jail, except clothing and money.

  2. Property Acceptances
    a) Prescription glasses
    b) Contact lenses
    c) Unopened containers of contact lens solutions
    d) Specific items ordered by the jail physicians

  3. General Information

Back to Top

Inmate Classification

Q. What is classification and how are inmates classified?

A. The Classification personnel determines the classification level for each inmate and where the inmate will be housed. Inmates are classified in an effort to place them in the proper housing unit for the community, staff and other inmates. Inmates are initially classified within 3 to 5 days from the day they are incarcerated. The Classification personnel looks at indicators such as:

1. Current charges
2. Past convictions
3. Escape history
4. Past institutional behavior
5. Felony convictions
6. Alcohol and/or drug use
7. Stability factors, including:
  a. Age
  b. Employment; and/or

An inmate's classification level determines the housing unit assignment, access to the day room, programs, visiting and commissary.

Inmate Good Time

Q. How does a inmate earn good time?

Housing Assignments

Q. Where do inmates live?

Q. What is it like where they are living?

A. Cleaning equipment is made available daily for cleaning cells and common areas. Cleaning is mandatory. Inmate beds will be neatly made from morning wake-up until evening lock-down, except when occupied.


Q. What happens when a person is taken to jail?

Release from Jail

Q.How is an inmate released from jail?

A. An inmate may be released from jail by:

a. Paying the bail or fine

b. Contacting a bail bond company (We cannot refer you to a bondsman. There are multiple listings in the Yellow Pages)

c. Release order from the court

Releases can take from 2 to 8 hours for the paperwork to be completed once it has been received by the Records Clerks.

Back to Top

Health Care

Q. What type of health care is provided to the inmates?

All inmates are evaluated by a Registered Nurse upon their arrival to the jail. The nurse performs a comprehensive assessment to address allergies, current injuries, medical problems, medications, mental health issues, substance abuse or other medical needs. All inmates are screened for infectious diseases including tuberculosis. Special medical needs are identified and addressed.

When a inmate who is taking medications prescribed by a physician in the community, the nursing staff are responsible to verify the validity of the prescription. The verification process includes reviewing the pill bottles, contacting the prescribing physician or contacting the dispensing pharmacy. This information is provided to the on-call physician who is responsible for deciding if the medication should be continued in jail. Not all medications are continued in the jail. The decision to continue medications is the responsibility of jail physicians and is based on the medical necessity of the medication and the current condition of the inmate.

Drug / Alcohol Withdrawal:
Inmates who are at risk for withdrawal are closely monitored by nursing staff. Those inmates experiencing symptoms of withdrawal are assessed by a Registered Nurse and treated per physician-approval protocols, which include monitoring of vital signs and administration of medications to alleviate symptoms. In addition, the physician is contacted, as needed, for additional treatment measures.

Access to Healthcare:
Inmates may access healthcare at any time during their Incarceration. Excluding medical emergencies, the inmate is required to fill a Sick Call Request Form, which is available from the deputies in the housing unit. Nurses visit each housing section twice a day to collect medical or dental related Forms. The nurse will perform an assessment of the inmate’s condition and then determine the necessity and urgency of referral to a physician or dentist. If an inmate relays to family that their healthcare needs have not been addressed, please ask them to submit a Sick Call Request Form.

Mandatory Healthcare Screening:
All inmates are evaluated by a Registered Nurse at the time of arrival in the jail.

Nursing staff are available in the jail at all times to respond to emergency situations. Inmates with a medical or mental health emergency should notify jail staff and healthcare staff will respond immediately.

Physicians are scheduled and available to evaluate inmates. The jail physicians are responsible to determine the necessity of medications and other healthcare provided in the jail. Inmates requesting to see a physician should submit a Sick Call request Form and are evaluated by the nursing staff as previously discussed. Inmates with emergent healthcare issues are immediately referred to an outside medical provider when necessary. For security purposes, we will not notify the inmate or family if an appointment has been scheduled with an outside medical provider.

Dental care is available in the jail.. All inmates are screened for dental issues during mandatory Screening. Inmates requesting to see the dentist should submit a Sick Call Request Form. The jail provides essential dental care and does not provide elective or cosmetic procedures.

Pregnant inmates will be provided with appropriate prenatal care in the jail. Pregnant inmates are followed closely by jail physicians and other outside medical providers to ensure the health and safety of the mother and child.

Eye Care:
The jail does not provide eye exams, eyeglasses, contact lenses or contact lens solutions. Inmate may purchase reading glasses and contact lens supplies through commissary. Prescription eye glasses and contact lenses will be accepted at the Jail. Only one pair of contact lenses will be accepted. Contact solutions are available for purchase though commissary. Solutions for hard/gas permeable lenses are not available through commissary and can be delivered to the jail unopened/sealed.

Co-payments: The jail has implemented a medical co-payment system. Inmates are charged a medical co-payment for self-initiated requests for healthcare in the jail (doctor visits, dentist visits, and prescriptions). Co-payments are not charged for mandatory screening, mental health medications, emergency evaluations, daily medical treatments, pregnancy-related issues, jail-ordered referrals or follow-up visits. Inmates will not be denied healthcare based on their inability to pay.

Self-care:Inmates are encouraged to exercise and maintain their health while in jail. Over-the-counter medications and other non-essential healthcare items are not provided by the jail and are available for purchase through commissary.

Due to laws governing confidentially, the jail staff is unable to discuss healthcare issues or provide you with specific information related to a inmates medical, dental or mental health issues. If you have information you believe is important to ensure the continuity of healthcare inside the jail, please contact a member of the nursing staff through jail administration.

Back to Top

Mail and Publications

Q. How do Inmates send/receive mail; how do I address the mail and what can I send it?

A. Mail is picked up and delivered Monday through Friday, except holidays. All incoming and outgoing mail must go through the U.S. Postal System. All incoming and outgoing personal mail will be screened, therefore, make no assumption of privacy in using the mail system.

The jail’s mailing address and format:

Inmate’s first and last name
Inmate's booking number (lookup booking number)
Utah County Jail
3075 North Main
Spanish Fork, Utah 84660

Letters from public officials, attorneys or courts are considered privileged, if the mail is properly marked and the envelope displays an appropriate letterhead with the sender’s name. All privileged mail will be opened and inspected for contraband in the presence of the inmate to whom it is addressed.

Letters or publications containing contraband, escape plans, plans for criminal activity, obscene or sexually explicit materials, encoded messages, or nudity will be refused or seized as evidence.

Inmates who receive money orders and certified checks in the mail will have those funds credited to their accounts and receipted. If the person receiving the money refuses to endorse the check or money order it will be returned to the sender. Personal checks will not be placed on your account but returned to the sender.

Mail sent to the jail after a inmate has been released will be returned to the sender. If there isn't a return address the mail will be sent to the U.S. Postal Service for proper disposition.

Items the inmate may NOT receive:

a) Books or materials containing explicit pictures or photographs.
b) Newspapers, magazines, pamphlets, calendars, hardback books, phone cards and/or food/candy items.
c) Writing materials and stamps must be purchased through the commissary.
d) Stickers, glue, tape, water spots, perfume spots, lipstick, bodily fluids, etc.
e) Coded Messages.
f) Photographs larger than 5 x 7 or Polaroid photographs.
g) Inmate to inmate mail (with out proper approval from the jail administration).
h) sexually explicit materials.
I) laminated items
j) personal checks
k) crayon colorings

Back to Top


Q. Do inmates get visits, and what are the visiting rules and regulations, who can visit?

A. Jail visits are no longer scheduled by the jail visiting staff. All visits are handled by Securus. Securus is an outside company that facilitates visitation for many correctional institutions in the U.S. All visits are by video monitors that are located in the public onsite visiting area of the jail and in each housing unit. Visitors will need to set up an account with Securus in order to schedule a visit. This can be done by going online to the Securus website, www.visitfromhome.net or by coming into the jail visiting area and using the Securus kiosk in the visiting waiting room. You will need a state issued driver's license or ID to complete the registration. Once a visitor is registered, they can schedule a visit with an inmate/detainee by following the prompts on the website. After a visit is scheduled, the visitor will receive a message on the website after the visit has been confirmed. All visits must be scheduled 24 hours in advance of the visit. The system will only display the visitation times which are available 24 hours in advance. You may also call the Securus customer service number toll free at 1-877-578-3658 for help. The visitor will arrive at the jail at the pre-arranged time and go to the visiting desk for further instructions. The inmates first two 25 minute visits at the jail for the week are free. Any additional visits will be charged $7.50 per 25 minute visit. Free onsite visits start over each Wednesday. Visits at the jail are available Monday thru Friday, 10:00 am - 11:00 am, 1:00 pm - 3:30 pm and 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm. There will be no onsite visits on holidays.

Visitors also have the option to visit an inmate/detainee through their own computers or mobile devices. There will be a charge of $5.00 per 25 minute visit. The www.visitfromhome.net website will have more information on how to set up these visits. Online visits are not counted toward the two free on-site visits. Remote visits are available 7 days a week and holidays, 10:00 am - 11:00 am, 1:00 pm - 3:30 pm and 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm.

Jail Rules : For visits at the jail visiting area, certain jail rules apply. All visitors, except those under the age of 16, must show photo identification including their date of birth, current address, and signature. A warrants check will be done on all visitors. A maximum of three persons may visit at one time. This will count as one visitation period. Visitors age 12 to 17 must be accompanied by a family member 21 years of age or older, unless the visitor is a spouse. A spouse under the age of 18 must show a marriage license and photo identification to be admitted for a visit. All visits will be monitored. Inappropriate behavior from either party is prohibited and may result in termination of the visit and a loss of future visiting privileges.

Visitors who have been booked into the Utah County Jail within the last 2 years are not allowed to visit. Exceptions can be made for immediate family members - spouse (with proof of marriage), father, mother, son, daughter, brother or sister. Anyone on probation or parole may not visit.

Dress Code : The Utah County Jail has a dress code requiring visitors to dress modestly, for both jail and online visits. Short shorts, mini-skirts, low cut blouses or low cut or sagging pants, bare midriffs, tube tops, spaghetti straps, etc. are not allowed.

Cell phones, cameras, recorders, weapons, knives, lighters, tobacco, purses, food or drink are not allowed in the jail.

Children : Children under the age of 12 may only visit inside the jail during the first seven days of each month. Children must be accompanied by an adult. A total of only three visitors in any combination of adults and children may visit at one time. Children must be controlled while visiting at the jail or the visit will be terminated. Children may not be left unattended in the public lobby or on jail grounds. Limitations on which days and how many children can visit only apply to visits at the jail.

Inmates have the right to refuse a visitor and may choose to not confirm your requested visit. In this case, the visit will not be accommodated.

Attorney and Clergy visitation : Attorneys may visit from 9:00 am to 9:00 pm daily except during mealtime and headcount. Clergy may visit from 10:00 am - 9:00 pm daily except during mealtime and headcount. Attorneys and clergy must bring documentation identifying their position. Attorney and clergy visits do not count against the two free visits per week allowed to inmates/detainees. Attorneys may use the attorney visitation rooms in the visiting lobby. Clergy will be allowed free visits on the on-site video monitors, however, it will be necessary to be cleared by visiting staff, register with Telmate, and schedule the visits before they will be allowed. Attorney’s and clergy are welcome to use the remote online visiting from outside computers and mobile devices, however, the $12.00 fee will apply for each visit.

There will be more detailed printed information available at the jail visiting lobby in case you have questions about the visiting procedures.

Back to Top

Telephone Use

Q. When can a inmate call me? Can I call the inmate? Are the calls free? What if I don’t want the inmate to call me?

A. “Collect only calls” in the housing areas from 9:00 am until 10:00 pm (depending on the inmate’s classification level). Phone calls are usually limited to 20 minutes. Inmates cannot bill or transfer calls to any third party, any attempt to do so may result in termination of the call.

Collect calls coming from the jail cost $3.15 plus tax and are limited to twenty (20) minutes in length. (The $3.15 is charged whether the call is one minute or the full twenty minutes.) Additionally, calling cards are sold to the inmates for $20.75 on commissary. Each calling card call is $2.72 cents. (The $2.72 cents is charged whether the call is one minute or the full twenty minutes.)

The jail will not place or accept any phone calls for inmates. The jail staff will not accept any telephone messages for inmates. (In case of emergencies, staff will verify and evaluate the emergency first, before deciding whether to deliver the message.) If you do not wish to have a inmate calling you, you can contact 1-800-913-6097 to have the call blocked, or you can choose not to accept the phone call.

To accept a collect call on your cell phone from the jail, you will need to call 1-800-913-6097 and have an account set up so that your phone will accept the collect calls.

TDD machines are available for the hearing impaired.

Back to Top

Pay to Stay

Q. When did the Jail start charging for Pay to Stay days, and who has to pay?

A. We started charging on June 28, 2007. If an inmate was in the jail on 06/28/07, he would be charged for the whole stay. Pay to Stay charges would not apply to a prior stay in the jail before 06/28/07.

Inmates convicted on misdemeanor charges will be charged for the Pay to Stay fees.

Inmates convicted on felony charges only will not be charged with Pay to Stay fees.

Inmates brought in on warrants may be charged Pay to Stay fees.

When inmates are convicted on both felony and misdemeanor charges, they will not be charged if felony and misdemeanor charges run concurrent. If felony and misdemeanor charges run consecutive, inmates will be charged for those days held on misdemeanor charges only.

Inmates on INS, US Marshall, and AP&P holds are not charged with Pay to Stay.

Inmates that participate in Inmate Worker Programs, i.e. jail industries, kitchen, laundry, custodial, or grounds crew workers will not be charged for the days they are in the program. However, they will be charged for days spent in the jail prior to entering those programs and will be charged any days they remain in jail if they are removed from the program.

Inmates participating in the OUT program may have a reduction in Pay to Stay fees if they successfully complete the program during their stay.

Pod workers are charged with Pay to Stay. They do not actually work 8-10 hours per day like inmates assigned to the inmate worker programs.

Upon release, an invoice may be printed at the time of release or one will be mailed to the inmate. Sometimes there is a delay in the Pay to Stay charges being added if the inmate still has court trials pending. The inmate is responsible after release to inform the jail of any address changes.

When money is deposited on an inmates account, if there is any outstanding debt it will be applied to the debt until it is paid off. If the inmate does not have any outstanding debt it will go to their commissary account. Inmates that have debt can still have family members order telephone cards, personal hygiene items, and stationary through jailatm.com.

Payments should be sent to :

Utah County Jail
Attn: Jail Accounting
3075 North Main Street
Spanish Fork, Utah 84660

Payment methods accepted: Cash, money orders, cashiers checks, credit cards (payments processed with a credit card must be in person at the jail - a 3% electronic payment fee will be added to credit card payments). Money orders and cashiers checks should be made out to Utah County Jail. No personal checks will be accepted. Payments cannot be made over the phone.

Payment plans are available to pay outstanding debts through regularly scheduled payments. Arrangements must be made by calling 801-851-4411.

Consequences of avoiding paying debts include: initial collection notification after first 30 days, follow-up collection notification after 60 days, final demand collection notification after 90 days and possible submission of account for legal action. Any account that is past due is subject to tax garnishment.

Back to Top

DNA Collection

Q. Do all inmates have to submit to a DNA test, what does it cost to have this test done?

Normally this will only involve the taking of a saliva sample and fingerprints to identify the sample source. The jails are specifically authorized by law to use force if necessary to collect a required sample. If force is necessary to obtain the sample, the jails may choose to use a medical blood draw. When the law requires a inmate to provide a sample while incarcerated, that sample will be obtained before an inmate will be released.

A collection/analysis fee will be assessed against inmate fund accounts as permitted. The fee for the DNA collection is $100 dollars.

Back to Top

Inmate Programs

Q. What programs are offered to inmates in the jail?

A. The jail offers multiple programs while a person is incarcerated in jail. A sampling of the classes include: Adult basic education, addiction support groups, personal health, life skills, and religious based classes. A inmate can obtain further information about the available programs from the Housing Unit Officer or submit an Inmate Request Form to the Programs Unit.

Back to Top

Inmate Worker Privileges

Q. Do inmates work while they are in jail?

The inmate’s classification level, the need of the jail, current charges, medical clearance, and the discretion of the Programs Unit. If enough sentenced inmates are unavailable, volunteer unsentenced inmates may be considered for an inmate worker position. Inmate Workers work in the kitchen, jail industries, and various cleaning assignments in the jail.

Back to Top

Alternatives to Incarceration

Q. What alternatives to incarceration are available to inmates?

A. The jail currently operates an GPS Diversion Program. The inmates wear an ankle monitor and live at home. Inmates are required to report to the jail weekly. They are also required to attend a class each week on Tuesdays at 6:30 pm or Thursdays at 5:00 pm or 6:30 pm.

A work diversion program is also available. An inmate arranges to work on certain days through the jail. They are required to work on supervised work crews on the Jail’s property and for other government and non-profit organizations. Inmates are required to pay weekly fees to participate in the work programs.

Back to Top

Inmate Rules and Regulations

Q. Whose rules do the inmates follow?

A. Inmates are given an Inmate Rules and Regulations Handbook (available in both English and Spanish) when processed into the facility. The handbook gives inmates information on the operation, services and inmate rules and regulations of the Utah County Jail.

Inmates must read the handbook and follow the rules. The handbook can not cover every situation that may arise, but being familiar with its contents will educate the inmates as to what services are available and what is expected of them. Inmates are expected to follow all orders and instructions from the staff. An orientation video is also shown to new inmates. If an inmate has questions about information contained in the handbook or video they can/should ask the Housing Unit Officer. If the inmate is unable to read, the Housing Unit Officer will find someone to read the book to them. Closed captioned video is available to inmates with hearing impairments.

Back to Top

Inmate Requests

Q. Who do the inmates talk to if they have questions or problems?

A. An inmate inquiry for information about the jail, release dates, notary services and jail services can be submitted on an Inmate Request Form. This form can be obtained from any Housing Unit Officer.

Other request forms are available to inmates such as: sick call, mental health, grievance, grievance appeals, discipline appeal, etc. An Inmate Request Form should not be used for the above mentioned requests/concerns. Except in an emergency, inmates will turn their requests in to the Housing Unit Officer. Housing Officers are also available to speak with at any time.

Back to Top

Disciplinary Issues

Q. What happens to a inmate if he/she causes problems in the jail?

It is the inmate's responsibility to know and obey all jail rules. All questions regarding the jail rules should be directed to the Housing Unit Officers.

Pursuant to UCA 17-22-28(2) “A jail may request restitution from a inmate for damaging jail property as part of an administrative disciplinary hearing. To enforce this restitution, the jail may withdraw money from or place a hold on an inmate’s account.”

Back to Top


Q. How does a inmate file a complaint and what is the process once a complaint is filed?

Inmates are allowed to file a written grievance about conditions in the jail. The complaint must be on an Inmate Grievance Form and made within seven (7) days from the date the incident happened. The inmate can obtain this form from any Housing Unit Officer. Each Inmate Grievance Form must be limited to one topic. If the inmate uses disrespectful language on the form it may result in disciplinary action and/or the grievance being returned unanswered.

Malicious or frivolous complaints may result in criminal, civil, and/or disciplinary action(s).

Inmates will normally receive an answer within ten days. Inmates may appeal a grievance decision with which they disagree to the appropriate Division Administrator. Appeals must be submitted within seven (7) days of receipt of the grievance response, on an Inmate Grievance Appeal Form. An inmate can obtain this form from any Housing Unit Officer.

A Division Administrator may act to manage access to the grievance process for inmates who repeatedly file malicious and/or frivolous grievances or appeals. This may be done by designating who may receive grievances, and limiting the number of grievances that can be filed in a designated period.

A copy of the Inmate Grievance Policy is posted in each housing unit.

Matters an Inmate may not grieve under this procedure:

  1. Matters of which the jail has no control (outside agency actions such as library services, courts, enacted laws, etc.)
  2. Disciplinary actions
  3. Housing assignments
  4. Grievance on behalf of another person or on non-custodial matters
  5. Jail personnel issues

Back to Top

Jail Food

Q. What is the food like at the jail?

A. The meals at the jail are designed by a dietician to ensure that the daily nutritional values are met and consist of 2900 calories a day. The meals served are varied and well prepared. Most inmates will receive their food on a tray, which is delivered to their housing unit on a cart.

Q. Can an inmate decide what to have for a meal?

A. Because all the meals are prepared in a centralized kitchen, everyone is served the same meals, with the exception of religious and medical diets.

Back to Top

Access to Religious Services and Diets

Q. Do inmates have access to religious services and diets?

A. Inmates may talk to religious representatives who are authorized to visit inside the jail. Other religious leaders may make arrangements to visit by contacting the Jail Visiting Lobby.

Certain religious practices (special religious diets) and activities are allowed in the jail. Inmates should request any special religious accommodations by submitting an Inmate Request Form. Inmate's requests will be considered by the Jail Administration (who may inquire into the sincerity of the inmate’s beliefs), the recommendations of the Jail Chaplin, and how the inmate’s request may affect jail operations and security.

Back to Top

Diplomatic and Consular Notification

Q. What if an inmate is a citizen of another county?

A. Under International Treaty, the jail is obligated to notify certain countries respective consulates of a foreign individual’s arrest and/or detainment. Other countries require notification only upon request of the arrested individual. Inmates may make such a request on an Inmate Request Form.

Back to Top