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c. Rider Member: 

 
  1. A rider member is defined as a person in training as per Article XVI. 
 
  2. Applicant for rider membership shall be a resident of Utah and shall be a 

minimum of 21 years of age, must hold a license and must have no-fault 
insurance coverage on all vehicles he intends to use in Jeep patrol and 
VIPS activities. 

 
  3. A rider member must be a person of good moral character with a history of 

obedience to the law.  A rider member must be approved by the Sheriff of 
Utah County. 

 
  4. A rider member shall pay a $24.00 application fee for the 1st years dues in 

advance. 
 
  5. A rider member shall sign and take oath of office, a copy of which can be 

found in Article V herein. 
 
  6. After an applicant has completed the above-outlined requirements and has 

been approved by the Board of Directors of the Jeep Patrol, he/she shall be 
voted in by the regular membership as a rider member. 

 
  7. A rider member shall be assigned a radio call number.  His/Her call number 

will be assigned by the board.  Numbers will start at 1J951R and can 
expand to 1J958R.  A maximum of 7 riders will be allowed in any calendar 
year. 

 
  8. A rider member will answer to the board through the rider member liaison. 
 
  9. A rider member will serve a probationary period of at least 1 year.  At the 

conclusion of his/her probation, the board of directors will determine if 
membership can be offered, if probation should be extended, or if rider 
member should be terminated. 

 
  10. A rider member can be terminated at any time for lack of performance or 

bylaws non compliance. 
 
  11. A rider member will always be accompanied by a regular member or a 

deputy with any assignment. 



 
ARTICLE XVI 

 
APPLICATION FOR RIDER MEMBERSHIP 

 
1. An application shall be filled out by a prospective rider member. 
 
2. Attached to the application shall be a summary of pertinent information concerning the 

prospective rider member, such as biographic data, education, training, skills, etc. 
 
3. The above items shall be submitted to the Board of Directors acting as a membership 

committee. 
 
4. The commander shall forward this information to the Sheriff’s office for approval. 
 
5. After approval, by he sheriff’s office, applicant shall attend a board meeting for 

evaluation by the Board of Directors. 
 
6. After Board of Directors approval, the applicant shall be invited to attend the next regular 

meeting of the Utah County Sheriff Jeep Patrol to acquaint himself/herself with the 
organization and its functions. 

 
7. At the next regular meeting, the quorum in attendance shall vote on applicant’s rider 

membership. 
 
8. The Board shall be responsible to acquaint the applicant with the organization’s 

activities. 
 
9. Before the rider member can be considered to become a regular member he/she must 

have completed the VIPS training program, within the first year of service.  Failure to do 
so will be grounds for termination. 

 
ARTICLE XVII 

 
EXPULSION AND DISCIPLINE 

 
1. Any member may be expelled from the Utah County Sheriff Jeep Patrol, or otherwise 

disciplined, by a majority vote of the Board of Directors.  However, said expelled or 
disciplined member shall have the right to request reconsideration of said expulsion or 
discipline, by the Board of Directors within thirty (30) days of receipt of written 
notification of such action, by certified mail, return receipt requested, to said members 
home address. 

 
2. If the Board and expelled or disciplined member are still not in agreement after such 

reconsideration, said member may appeal said discipline or expulsion within sixty (60) 
days to the regular membership at a regular meeting.  Said discipline or expulsion must 



be sustained by a majority vote of all voting members in attendance at said regular 
meeting. 

 
 
3. Until all appeals are completed, the disciplined or expelled member status shall be in 

suspension, having no vote, right to office, or right to attend call-outs or functions unless 
said suspension is modified by the Board of Directors during the appeal period. 

 
 


