### PART TIME-NON BENEFITTED POSITION

# Utah County Department of Drug and Alcohol Prevention and Treatment (DDAPT) has the following position available:

#### **PREVENTON SPECIALIST - #115358**

Hours: Part time/up to 20 hours weekly Salary: \$14.00 - \$16.91 per hour

#### **JOB SUMMARY:**

Performs para-professional work in assisting in the development, design, coordination, and administration of substance use prevention activities in Utah County. Under general supervision of the Prevention Program Manager, will assist team in coordinating prevention and intervention activities through a countywide drug prevention coalition. Will assist in opiate overdose prevention and alcohol compliance checks to reduce underage drinking.

#### **DUTIES MAY INCLUDE:**

Provide staff support for coalition coordinator and members to plan, implement and report on comprehensive action plan based on data driven needs, using the Strategic Prevention Framework (SPF).

Work with the coalition and team to assess and address community readiness issues.

Work with the coalition coordinator and member organizations to align and integrate their work with the goals of the coalition to develop and monitor outcomes, and report back to the coalition the progress toward them.

Assist in member recruitment and retention on the coalition and obtain and sustain support from local stakeholders/leaders.

Coordinate community outreach efforts through presentations, newsletter, social media, etc.

Provide and/or coordinate services, implement activities, and manage coalition trainings with the cooperation of the coalition members.

## **QUALIFICATIONS MAY INCLUDE:**

#### **Prevention Specialist I:**

- Bachelor's degree in health, behavior or social science or a closely related field, or 2 years equivalent experience in public health or substance abuse prevention.
- Preference will be given to applicants who are licensed as a substance use disorder counselor (SUDC), Community Health Education Specialist (CHES), or social service worker (SSW) under the Mental Health Professional Practice Act (UCA 58-60)
- Must possess, or be eligible to obtain, valid State of Utah DUI certification
- Incumbent is required to complete continuing education required to maintain licensure
- Incumbent must possess a current driver license and obtain a valid State of Utah driver license within 60 days of employment
- Selected applicants are subject to, and must pass, a full background check

## **CONTACT INFORMATION**

Individuals interested in the position must submit an official Utah County Government Application for Employment, and if applicable, college transcripts and/or diploma (internet printouts & photocopies are acceptable) and proof of licensure, to the DDAPT Office, **Heather Lewis at 801-851-7188 or Submit a Utah County Government application, which can be found online at** <u>www.utahcounty.gov/jobs</u> to heatherl@utahcounty.gov