The Official Website of Utah County Government

Utah Salt Flats
Commissioner Gary J. Anderson, Commission Chair

Commissioner Anderson - Commission ChairBiography

Gary was born and raised in the San Joaquin Valley in California. He excelled in sports and academics in high school and was a presidential scholar at the College of the Sequoias. Gary served a mission for his church to Germany and upon his return accepted a scholarship to BYU. There he met and married Molly Stansfield of Springville, Utah. They have been happily married for over 40 years. Gary and Molly boast 6 children (5 more added by marriage), and 14 grandchildren.

Gary graduated from Southwestern University School of Law in Los Angeles, California. He and Molly returned to Utah County where they put down permanent roots and Gary began to practice law. Gary went to work for the Utah County Attorney's Office in the Civil Division and later transferred to the Criminal Division where he became a major felony prosecutor. In the early 1980's Gary returned to the private practice of law and in 1983 ran and was elected Utah County Commissioner. He retired from the County Commission in 1989 and returned to private law practice until 2006 when he again ran, and was again elected to the Utah County Commission.

Gary has been prominent in community and religious activities his entire life. A partial list of his activity includes:


Board of Trustees, Central Utah Water Conservancy District
Board of Directors, Economic Development Corporation Of Utah
Board of Directors, Utah Association of Counties
National Steering Committee for Justice, National Association of Counties
Board of Directors, Utah County Board of Health
Vice Chairman, Mountainlands Association of Counties
Member, Utah County Council for Governments
Board of Directors, Utah Valley Chamber of Commerce
Board of Directors, Utah Valley University Events Center
Board of Directors, Wasatch Mental Health
UVU Economic Development Council Steering Committee, Utah County Aging Services


Member, Board of Children's Justice Center
Member, Utah Board of Juvenile Justice
Member, National Board of Directors for Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice
Member, Utah State Commission of Criminal and Juvenile Justice
Member, 4th Judicial District Delinquency Drug Court Steering Committee
Member, 4th Judicial District Family Treatment Court Steering Committee
LDS Church Primary Teacher
President, Utah Association of Governments
Member, Governor's Advisory Council
Member, Private Industry Council
Member, Executive Committee, Mountainland Association of Governments
Chairman, Council of Governments
Member, National Association of Counties Economic Development Committee
Member, National Association of Counties Community Development Committee
Chairman, Utah Valley Economic Development Association
Branch President, Missionary Training Center