UtahCounty.gov

The Official Website of Utah County Government

 

Utah County Clerk/Auditor

Bryan E. Thompson

Utah County Auditor

Marriage License Issuance Policy & Guidelines

for the Utah County Clerk's Office

The Utah County Clerk's Office issues Marriage Licenses for all qualified applicants

 

Location & Hours

 

Applicants must appear together at the same time* at the Utah County Clerk's Office.

 

Utah County Administration Building

100 East Center, Suite 3600

Provo, UT 84606

Hours are 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M. Monday through Friday. (The office is not open on Saturday, Sunday or holidays).

*Applicants that are unable to appear to obtain a marriage license during regular business hours, due to extenuating circumstances; will be referred to the County Clerk to make special arrangements.

 

 

Fees

 

The marriage license fee is $40.00 payable by cash, credit (Visa or MasterCard only) or debit cards. No Personal checks are accepted.  The fee includes one certified copy of the marriage license, which will be mailed after the marriage is solemnized.

 

Additional certified copies are available for $5.00 for each copy

 

Requirements and Application

 

A marriage license will be issued by the County Clerk’s Office, to qualified applicants, upon receipt of the following required information:

 

 

  • Full legal names 
  • Social security numbers, unless the applicant has not been assigned a number
  • Date and place of birth (town or city, county, state or country, if possible)
  • Names of respective parents, including the maiden name of the mother
  • Birthplaces of fathers and mothers (state or country)
  • One form of ID such as a valid driver's license, passport or original birth certificate. If a birth certificate is used, a photo ID is also required
  • Divorce decree signed by the Judge if your divorce was final in the last 60 days
  • Applicants must be 18 years of age and have legal proof of age: Valid drivers license, birth certificate, or passport

 

Marriage License Application This document is in Adobe Acrobat .pdf format. NOTE - EACH APPLICANT MUST FILL OUT A FORM

 

Marriage by Minors

 

Applicants under the age of 18 years of age are required to have :

  • A parent or legal guardian present to sign consent, If the applicant is 16 or 17 years of age.
  • If the applicant is 15 years of age, an authorization to marry must be provided by a juvenile judge of the court exercising juvenile jurisdiction in the county where either party to the marriage resides. The written authorization may also be obtained from a court commissioner as permitted by rule of the Judicial Council. Please contact our office for a form. (Section 30-1-9 Marriage by Minors)
  • Applicants 14 years of age and younger cannot obtain a marriage license under Utah law.

 

Solemnizing Marriages


Applicants are encouraged to plan ahead and make arrangements, in advance of obtaining their marriage license, for someone to solemnize their marriage.  The Official must be recognized under the laws of the State of Utah, as one who can legally perform the marriage ceremony.  The Utah County Clerk’s office does not solemnize marriages.

Upon request, the County Clerk’s Office will provide a list of local officials who have agreed to perform marriage solemnization ceremonies, during regular business hours.  It is the responsibility of the Applicants to coordinate directly with the local official, as to the time, place of the ceremony, and the fee that will be charged for the service.

Validity of License

  • Licenses are valid for 30 days from date of issue and may be used anywhere within the State of Utah.
  • The license remains the property of Utah County and must be returned to the County Clerk after the marriage is solemnized or not solemnized.
  • The person performing the ceremony will be responsible to complete the Marriage License, and return the Marriage License to the Clerk’s office within two weeks (14 days) of the marriage.
  • After the Marriage License is returned to the office, a certified copy will be mailed to you at the address provided when applying for the License. The certified copy of your Marriage License is your official proof of marriage.
  • Your original Marriage License remains on file in our office.  If you need a certified copy in the future, it can be obtained upon request, for a $5.00 fee. 

 

 

Disclaimer

The Marriage License Division of Utah County Government tries to ensure that the information made available on the County's website is accurate and complete. Due to factors beyond the control of the County, however, it cannot guarantee against unauthorized modification of information or errors and omissions made in inputting and posting data. The County may make changes to a web page at any time to update, add or correct the information made available. If you have any questions regarding what information is acceptable or required in order to complete a Marriage Application, contact the Marriage License division at 801-851-8226 or 801-851-8108.