
Marriage Officiator Indefinite Designation, Ver. 3-22 

Utah County Clerk

111 S University Ave Provo, 

Utah 84601 

Phone: (801) 851–8109 

This application is for individuals who would like to be designated by the Utah County Clerk to officiate marriage 

ceremonies for the general public for an indefinite period of time. To become authorized  to perform marriage ceremonies 

as a Utah County Clerk Designee within the State of Utah, applicants must present proof of Utah Residency in the form of a 

Utah State issued ID card or Driver’s License. 

  DESIGNEE INFORMATION 

1. 

2.   3. 

4. 

5. Public Contact Information. (Your Name and Public Contact Information will be made publicly available. If you do not wish to be listed

on the website, leave this section blank.)

STATEMENT OF UNDERSTANDING AND INTENT (read and initial acknowledgement) 

Designee’s First Name Middle Name Last Name Date of Birth 

Phone Number Email Address 

Mailing Address City & State Zip Code 

I request to be appointed an official Designee of the Utah County Clerk in order to perform marriage ceremonies in the State of Utah per 
Utah Code Ann. 17-20-4. I hereby witness and acknowledge that I will abide by the laws of the State of Utah in administering the duties of a 
Designee and agree to the responsibilities and requirements of a Designee, including: 

1. I acknowledge that my appointment as a Designee does not make me an employee of the Utah County Clerk’s office, nor does it 
establish an employment or contractor relationship with Utah County.    INITIAL HERE ______

2. I am 18 years of age or older.    INITIAL HERE ______

3. I understand that my authority to perform marriage ceremonies extends only within the borders of the State of Utah, and that I am 
not authorized under Utah State Code to officiate in wedding ceremonies outside of the State of Utah.    INITIAL HERE ______

4. With a minimum of 5 days’ advance notice, minus any personal scheduling conflicts, I agree to perform all marriage ceremonies for 
any couple that has legally obtained a marriage license within the State of Utah.    INITIAL HERE ______

5. With advance notice, I agree to be reasonably available to perform wedding ceremonies during the normal business hours of the Utah 
County Clerk. At my discretion, I may also perform wedding ceremonies outside of the normal business hours of the Clerk’s office. 
INITIAL HERE ______

6. I agree to negotiate and manage any compensation for my services. I agree that I will establish a consistent fee schedule for any   ser-
vice I provide as a Designee, and that my fee schedule will not discriminate or provide preferential pricing on the basis of any charac-
teristic protected under the law.    INITIAL HERE ______

A. Phone Number: Answer the following Yes No 

B. Email Address: Do you intend to charge a fee? 

C. Web Address: List total distance or locations within the state 
you are willing to travel: 

D. Language(s):

(English is the default. Please list any other languages you can speak fluently.) 
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7. I understand and agree to abide by the Utah State Code governing marriage, including the following provisions:

A. I will perform marriage ceremonies for which a legal marriage license has been issued in the State of Utah. I will not refuse to
officiate a marriage ceremony on the basis of any characteristic protected under the law.

B. A marriage license is only valid within thirty (30) days of issuance. After thirty (30) days, the license must be returned and
reissued.

C. A ceremony must have two witnesses (18 years of age or older) that are present to attest to the marriage. These witnesses must
be someone other than the officiator and the couple, and must sign the license.

D. I will ensure that the official marriage license is filled out accurately and completely, including all necessary signatures. I will
enter my title as “Utah County Clerk Designee” on the marriage license.

E. I will return the official license to the issuing County Clerk’s office within thirty (30) days of the ceremony. Failure to do so may
result in my being charged with a crime under Utah Code Ann. 30-1-11.    INITIAL HERE ______

8. I will provide a marriage ceremony that affords each party the opportunity to affirm their willingness to enter into a marriage
commitment. Note that the couple may provide their own wording, as long as it includes a statement of their voluntary entry into a
marriage commitment with their spouse. A sample of such wording is as follows:     INITIAL HERE ______

DESIGNEE: (Spouse 1), do you take (Spouse 2) to be your lawfully wedded (husband/wife/spouse)? 

SPOUSE 1: (Required to answer in the affirmative.)  

DESIGNEE: (Spouse 2), do you take (Spouse 1) to be your lawfully wedded (husband/wife/spouse)? 

SPOUSE 2: (Required to answer in the affirmative.)  

DESIGNEE: By virtue of the authority vested in me through the laws of the State of Utah, I now pronounce you (Spouse 1) and 
    (Spouse 2) legally married. 

9. I agree and promise to indemnify and hold harmless Utah County, its officers, agents, officials, employees, and volunteers, and
release them for and from any liability, costs or expenses arising from any action, causes of action, claims for relief, demands,
damages, expenses, costs, fees, or compensation, whether or not said actions, causes of action, claims for relief, demands, damages,
costs, fees, expenses and/or compensations are known or unknown, are in law or equity, and without limitation, all claims of relief
which can be set forth through a complaint or otherwise that may arise out of the acts or omissions, negligent or otherwise of the
Designee, or marriage parties.     INITIAL HERE ______

10. I acknowledge that my appointment as Designee may be terminated at any time by either party for no cause with 30 days written
notice, or at any time for any material breach of this agreement by either party.     INITIAL HERE ______

11. I agree to notify the Utah County Clerk/Auditor’s office of any change in contact information during my term as a Designee.
INITIAL HERE ______

Signature Printed Name Date 

DESIGNATION BY THE UTAH COUNTY CLERK 

As granted in Utah Code Ann. 17-20-4, the Utah County Clerk hereby names and appoints 

_________________________________________________ as an official Designee to perform marriages in accordance with Utah 

State Code. The authority to act as a Designee is indefinite and perpetual, until rescinded by the Utah County Clerk, or until the 

resignation of the Designee.  Clerk Seal 

County Clerk Deputy Clerk Clerk Signature 

Date 
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