

Amelia Powers Gardner Utah County Clerk/Auditor 111 S University Ave Provo, UT 84601 (801) 851-8108 or (801) 851-8226 Fax (801) 343-8236 Email: marriage@utahcounty.gov



## **Instructions for Marriage Officiants**

A Marriage License must be completed on the day of the wedding and returned to the Utah County Clerk/ Auditor's office <u>no later than 30 days</u> after the ceremony at the address listed above. The following parts of the license will need to be completed by the officiant or in the officiant's presence. (Please refer to sample on the back of this page)

#### Complete the following fields in the officiants section of the marriage license:

- 1. Day of the month the marriage took place on, not day of the week (ie 17th day).
- 2. Month the marriage took place.
- 3. Year the marriage took place.
- 4. City in which the marriage took place.
- 5. County in Utah where the marriage took place.
- 6. Title of officiant performing the marriage.
- 7. Signature of officiant that performed the marriage ceremony.
- 8. Printed name of officiant that performed the marriage ceremony.
- 9. Title of officiant performing the marriage.
- 10. Mailing address and phone number of officiant.
- 11. Signature of Spouse 1.
- 12. Signature of Spouse 2.
- 13. Name/signatures of first Witness 1
- 14. Name/signatures of first Witness 2

!!Important Note!! Both witnesses must be over the age of 18 at the time the ceremony is performed.

**<u>IIIVERY IMPORTANTIII</u>** Marriage licenses will expire 30 days after the date of issue! If a marriage ceremony is performed on day 31, the license is invalid and the couple will have to get married again with a valid license. Please look at the date of issue on the license to ensure that the marriage is being completed prior to the 30 day deadline.

If you find any mistakes on the top half of the license, please put a stickie note on the license with the corrections, but do not correct them on the license itself. If you make a mistake in filling out the license, please use correction tape instead of liquid white-out.

No marriage may be officiated in the State of Utah without a license issued by a county clerk from a county within the State of Utah. All out of state licenses are invalid and cannot be officiated within state boundaries.

LICENSE IS VOID IF CEREMONY IS NOT PERFORMED WITHIN 30 DAYS OF ISSUANCE				
LIC No.	arriage Lic	ense Sample Cop Officiants of Utak	STATE OF UNTY	
To any person legally au	thorized to perform n	narriage, you are hereby authorize	ed to join in matrimony	
		, of		
n the county of		and state of		
of the age of	years, and			
		, of		
n the county of		and state of		
of the age of	years.			
officiant Section	1	2		
	day of	2	in the year o	
I hereby certify that on the two thousand3	e day of in the city of	2 4	in the year o in said county o	
I hereby certify that on the two thousand <u>3</u> 5	, I, the und		did join i	
I hereby certify that on the two thousand <u>3</u> <u>5</u> matrimony according to the	, I, the und e laws of the State of Ut <b>DUSE 2</b> . The	lersigned, a <b>6</b> ah <b>name of spou</b> e nature of the ceremony was accord	did join in <b>SE 1</b> and	
I hereby certify that on the two thousand <u>5</u> matrimony according to the <b>name of spo</b> a present mutual agreement Signature of Spouse 1 12	, I, the und e laws of the State of Ut <b>DUSE 2</b> . The	lersigned, a <u>6</u> tah <u>name of spou</u> e nature of the ceremony was accord arties. <u>7</u> Signature of Officiant <u>8</u>	did join in <b>SE 1</b> and	
I hereby certify that on the two thousand3 5 matrimony according to the name of spo a present mutual agreement Signature of Spouse 1 12 Signature of Spouse 2	, I, the und e laws of the State of Ut OUSE 2 The t of marriage between pa	lersigned, a <u>6</u> ah <u>name of spou</u> e nature of the ceremony was accord arties. <u>7</u> Signature of Officiant <u>8</u> Printed Name of Officiant	did join in <b>SE 1</b> and	
I hereby certify that on the two thousand3 5 matrimony according to the <b>name of spo</b> a present mutual agreement Signature of Spouse 1 12 Signature of Spouse 2 13	, I, the und e laws of the State of Ut OUSE 2 The t of marriage between pa	lersigned, a <u>6</u> tah <u>name of spou</u> e nature of the ceremony was accord arties. 7 Signature of Officiant 8 Printed Name of Officiant 9	did join in <b>SE 1</b> and	
I hereby certify that on the two thousand3 5 matrimony according to the name of spoce a present mutual agreement Signature of Spouse 1 12 Signature of Spouse 2	, I, the und e laws of the State of Ut OUSE 2 The t of marriage between pa 1 2	lersigned, a <u>6</u> ah <u>name of spou</u> e nature of the ceremony was accord arties. <u>7</u> Signature of Officiant <u>8</u> Printed Name of Officiant	did join in <b>SE 1</b> and	
I hereby certify that on the two thousand3 5 matrimony according to the name of spo a present mutual agreement Signature of Spouse 1 12 Signature of Spouse 2 13 Name/Signature of With	, I, the und e laws of the State of Ut OUSE 2 The t of marriage between pa 1 2 3 4 4	lersigned, a <u>6</u> tah <u>name of spou</u> e nature of the ceremony was accord arties. 7 Signature of Officiant 8 Printed Name of Officiant 9	did join in <b>se 1</b> and	

### **USE BLACK INK**

TO THE MARRIAGE OFFICIANT: Please complete and sign the bottom of the official Marriage License and return to the Utah County Clerk's Office. The license must be returned within thirty (30) days. Failure to return this information within 30 days is a misdemeanor offense.



Date received by clerk: \_



Amelia Powers Gardner Utah County Clerk/Auditor 111 S University Ave Provo, UT 84601



## **Complete and Mail this Form Back with Completed Marriage License!!**

Shipping Address to Send Paper Certified Copy To:				
Ship to Name:				
Mailing Address:				
City:				
State:				
Zipcode:				

Email Address to se	end Digital Certified	Сору	To:

Email Address:

# Please note the following when mailing the completed marriage license back to Utah County:

- Do not use an envelope <u>smaller than</u> a standard full size business envelope. (4 1/8" x 9 1/2" also known as a #10 or Com 10)
- Do not fold the license more than three times. The folded license should like the example to the right and easily fit into the envelope.
- Don't forget to add the correct amount of postage to the envelope and address it to the following:

Folded License Example

Utah County Clerk/Auditor Attn: Marriage Licenses 111 S University Ave Provo, UT 84601

- You must send in the original copy of your marriage license with the original "wet ink" signatures of the officiant, witnesses, couple getting married.
- The original document is scanned and archived with the State of Utah for permanent retention. Copies of any kind (faxed, emailed, etc) cannot be accepted in place of the original license.
- Used or unused, the original license must be returned to the Utah County Clerk/Auditor within 30 days of the date the marriage date. Failure to return the license does constitute a misdemeanor offense.