

Amelia Powers Gardner Utah County Clerk/Auditor 111 S University Ave Provo, UT 84601 (801) 851-8108 or (801) 851-8226 Fax (801) 343-8236 Email: marriage@utahcounty.gov



## **Instructions for Marriage Officiants**

A Marriage License must be completed on the day of the wedding and returned to the Utah County Clerk/ Auditor's office <u>no later than 30 days</u> after the ceremony at the address listed above. The following parts of the license will need to be completed by the officiant or in the officiant's presence. (Please refer to sample on the back of this page)

## Complete the following fields in the officiants section of the marriage license:

- 1. County in Utah where the marriage took place.
- 2. Day of the month the marriage took place on, not day of the week (ie 17th day).
- 3. Month the marriage took place.
- 4. Year the marriage took place.
- 5. City in which the marriage took place.
- 6. Title of officiant performing the marriage.
- 7. Rites/authority (religious or civil) that the marriage was officiated according to.
- 8. Signature of officiant that performed the marriage ceremony.
- 9. Printed name of officiant that performed the marriage ceremony.
- 10. Title of officiant performing the marriage.
- 11. Mailing address and phone number of officiant.
- 12. Signature of couple getting married.
- 13. Names/signatures of two witnesses over the age of 18 that witnessed the marriage ceremony.

**<u>IIIVERY IMPORTANTIII</u>** <u>Marriage licenses will expire 30 days after the date of issue!</u> If a marriage ceremony is performed on day 31, the license is invalid and the couple will have to get married again with a valid license. Please look at the date of issue on the license to ensure that the marriage is being completed prior to the 30 day deadline.

If you find any mistakes on the top half of the license, please put a stickie note on the license with the corrections, but do not correct them on the license itself. If you make a mistake in filling out the license, please use correction tape instead of liquid white-out.

No marriage may be officiated in the State of Utah without a license issued by a county clerk from a county within the State of Utah. All out of state licenses are invalid and cannot be officiated within state boundaries.

Application Number

## Marriage License Sample Copy STATE OF FOR Officiants DY OF UTAH

To Any Person Legally Authorized to Solemnize Marriage, Greeting. You Are Hereby Authorized to Join in HOLY MATRIMONY

Mr		of	in the County
of	and State of	of the age of	years
and M		ol	years in the County
of	and State of	of the age of	years
	of said		U
0 0	assent to said Marriage		ereto affixed at my office in <b>PROVO, UTAH</b>
<b>Officiant S</b>	ection	thisday of	COUNTY CLERK
		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	
State of Utah,	} ss. I hereby certify that on the <b>2</b> } in the year of our Lord Two Thousand	day of3	
COUNTY OF		6 4	
did join in the Holy 3	Bonds of Matrimony according to the Laws of this State.	V	
	of the Country of	State of	and
	of the County of	State of	
The nature of the ceremony w was a present mutual agreemen	as according to the rites of		and
WE WERE MARRIED AS S	TATED IN THIS LICENSE AND ARE NOW HUSBAND AND WIFE	Q	
Signed <b>2</b>	GROOM	SIGNATURE OF OFFICIAL	
Signed	BRIDE	9	10
in the presence of $43$		PRINT OFFICIAL NAME	TITLE
13	WTINESS	11	
	WITNESS	ADDRESS	

## 

**NOTICE!** The person solemnizing the marriage shall within 30 days thereafter return the license to the clerk of the county whence it issued, with a certificate of the marriage over his signature, giving the date and place of celebration and the names of two or more witnesses present at the marriage. For failure to make such return he shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. (Utah Code 30-1-11)