UtahCounty.Gov

The Official Website of Utah County Government

Utah County Children's Justice Center - Dolls
Reporting Possible Abuse

"Whenever any person...has reason to believe that a child has been subjected to incest, molestation, sexual exploitation, sexual abuse, or neglect, or who observes a child being subjected to conditions or circumstances which would reasonably result in (this abuse)...he shall immediately notify the nearest peace officer, law enforcement agency, or office of the division (Division of Child and Family Services-Department of Social Services, Protective Services)." (Utah State Code 62A-4-501)

Protecting children from abuse is everyone's responsibility.

"Reason to believe" does not mean that you must prove a child is being abused or neglected. It is the role of the investigators (law enforcement officer or Protective Service worker) to investigate and establish proof. The investigation should be conducted in a confidential and sensitive manner.

Crisis Hotlines

Center for Women & Children in Crisis (24-hour) 801-377-5500

Child Find (24-hour) 1-800-426-5678

Child Protective Services (24 hours) 1-855-323-3237 or dcfsintake@utah.gov

Crisis Line of Utah County/National Life-Line 801-226-4433

Family Support & Treatment Center (Crisis Respite Nursery) 801-229-1181

Hope Line-UVRMC (crisis/suicide prevention) 801-375-4673

National Center for Missing & Exploited Children (24-hour) 1-800-843-5678

National Child Abuse Hotline (Child Help USA, 24-hour) 1-800-422-4453

United Way Information & Referral Service 801-374-6400 or 2-1-1

Utah Poison Control Center 1-800-456-7707