Utah County Assessor
State law mandates that all property is subject to taxation unless otherwise exempted. Your property taxes support necessary services provided to the residents of Utah County. These include law enforcement, fire protection, education, parks and recreation, and other vital services.
Property taxes are based on the market value of your property. Property tax bills show land and improvement values. Improvements include all assessable buildings and structures on the land. It does not necessarily mean that you have recently "improved" your property.
Copies of building permits are sent to the Assessor. New buildings, additions, and other structures, require an appraisal. Structural repairs and/or replacement are not appraisable in most situations.
The value of new construction is added to the existing improvement assessed value. As with all newly assessed values, the property owner has the right to appeal the value.
The Appraisal Division
The Utah County Appraisal Division is a collective team which includes the Assessor, Chief Deputy Assessor, and several Appraisers. As required by State Statue all appraisals performed are by certified appraisers through the Utah State Division of Real Estate and are also registered and /or certified through the State of Utah’s Department of Commerce. All appraisals are for ad valorem purposes.
It is the duty of this division to ensure that the assessment of property will be performed in a professional manner by competent personnel, meeting specified professional qualifications.
The Division determines current market value of each property in the County as of January 1st of each year. The market value of the property is the amount a willing purchaser would pay a willing seller, exclusive of reasonable fees and costs of purchase. These values are used in an assessment and taxation formula outlined below.
How Value is Determined:
Value is determined in accordance with accepted appraisal standards and techniques. There are three approaches to value which are considered and used as appropriate. These approaches to value are based on:
Other Factors which may influence value include :
Formula for Collecting Taxes in Utah County :
Primary residences receive a 45% exemption according to State Statue. The 45% exemption only applies to the first acre of land, any overage is calculated at 100%. The primary residential property taxes are calculated as follows:
Total Taxes Owed
|$238,000 - Market Value
$130,900 - Taxable Value
x0.01759 - Tax Rate (Levy)
$2,302.53 - Total Taxes Owed
If you want to calculate the estimated taxes owed on a property, please click here.
When calculating taxes owed for a newly constructed building, use the estimated value of the building in place of the market value. Same formula above is used to calculate taxes owed.
Commercial, Vacant Land and Second Home
There is no deduction for these types of property. They are taxed at 100% of the market value.